New Jersey’s Phase 2 application for the National Disaster Resiliency Competition will propose a pilot project area with concepts that will provide flood protection, enhance natural areas, provide recreational opportunities, enhance disaster resilience, revitalize the community and create economic development opportunities to areas impacted by Superstorm Sandy. These areas are specifically in and around the municipalities of Carlstadt, East Rutherford, Hackensack, Hasbrouck Heights, Little Ferry, Moonachie, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Teterboro, and Wood-Ridge.

As part of the process of developing the application, the Department of Environmental Protection will post the application on this website for public review and comment. The proposed application is anticipated to be posted on September 24, 2015at The public comment period will run 15 days from the date of posting. If posted as anticipated on September 24, the public comment period will conclude on October 9 at 5:00 p.m. EST. During this time, members of the public will have the opportunity to review the plan and submit comments directly to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. Comments may be submitted in the following ways:In Person at a Public Hearing*:Tuesday, September 29, 2015
6:30 – 8:30 p.m.
Little Ferry Borough Hall
215-217 Liberty St
Little Ferry, NJ 07643By Email:ndrcpubliccomments@dep.nj.govBy Mail:Office of Flood Risk Reduction Measures
Attention: Dave Rosenblatt
501 East State Street
Mail Code 501-01A
P.O. Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420All comments must be received by the close of the public comment period to be considered.